Talking Photo Price Index
On a monthly plan you use in full, AI talking-photo video costs about $0.010–$0.030 per finished second (D-ID Studio Lite $0.010, HeyGen Creator $0.013, Synthesia Starter ≈$0.021, Vidnoz Starter (450 credits) $0.030). Paying per use costs more per second — Kling's Avatar API $0.056, TalkPix $0.053–$0.100 at 720p — but nothing renews. If you make less than about 5.4–5.8 minutes of video a month, paying once costs less than a $27–$29 monthly plan.
By Ege Alp, Founder, TalkPix · Prices checked October 10, 2026 · Updated October 10, 2026
$0.010–$0.030
per second on a monthly plan you use in full
$0.053–$0.100
per second on TalkPix one-time packs (720p), never expiring
5.4–5.8 min
a month: below this, paying once beats a $27–$29 plan
The index
Cost per second of talking-photo video, by tool
Entry paid plan of each tool at its monthly-billing list price, divided by the talking-photo video its monthly allowance buys at full use. Prices in US dollars, checked October 10, 2026 on each tool's official pricing page.
| Tool | Plan | Price / month | Video included | Cost per second | Free option | Unused credits | Commercial use | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TalkPix | One-time packs, $5–$200 | Pay per use | — | $0.053–$0.100 | No free tier; eligible new customers get a first video (up to 20 s) for $1.99 | Never expire | Yes, with rights and consent for every input | Pricing page |
| HeyGen | Creator | $29.00 ($24.00 billed annually) | 37.5 min | $0.013 | 3 videos a month, up to 1 minute each | Roll over one extra month on monthly plans | Not stated on the pricing page | Pricing pageCredit policy |
| D-ID Studio | Lite | $5.90 ($4.70 billed annually) | 10 min | $0.010 | 14-day trial, watermarked | Expire each month | Personal use only on Lite; commercial from Pro | Pricing page |
| Synthesia | Starter | $29.00 ($18.00 billed annually) | 22.5 min (approx.) | ≈$0.021 | Basic plan, 10 minutes a month, watermarked; photo avatars need a paid plan | Reset each billing period | Not stated on the pricing page | Pricing pageCredit policy |
| Vidnoz | Starter (450 credits) | $26.99 | 15 min | $0.030 | Up to 3 minutes per video at 720p, watermarked | Don't carry over | Not clearly stated | Pricing page |
| Hedra | Basic | $20.00 | Not published | Not published | Not stated | Subscription credits don't carry over; purchased packs do | Yes, on Basic | Pricing page |
| Kling Avatar (API) | Pay per use, developer API | Pay per use | — | $0.056 | None | Pay per use | Developer API terms | Pricing page |
Product names are trademarks of their owners. TalkPix is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by any tool listed here. Prices change often — follow the source link for the current figure.
Break-even
When does paying once beat a subscription?
A subscription is only cheap per second if you use all of it. This is how much TalkPix 720p video the same money buys at the Starter-pack rate ($0.083 per second, $10 for 120 credits). Make less than that in a month and paying once is cheaper; make more and a fully used plan wins.
| Plan | Price / month | Video included | TalkPix video for the same money |
|---|---|---|---|
| D-ID Studio Lite | $5.90 | 10 min | 1.2 min, never expiring |
| HeyGen Creator | $29.00 | 37.5 min | 5.8 min, never expiring |
| Synthesia Starter | $29.00 | 22.5 min | 5.8 min, never expiring |
| Vidnoz Starter (450 credits) | $26.99 | 15 min | 5.4 min, never expiring |
TalkPix sells fixed packs ($5, $10, $25, $50, $100, $200), so the money is spent in steps rather than to the cent. Larger packs lower the rate to $0.053 per second.
Method
How the index is calculated
- Each tool's cheapest paid plan that makes talking-photo or photo-avatar video, at the monthly-billing list price without promotions, read off the official page on October 10, 2026.
- Cost per second = monthly price ÷ seconds of finished video the monthly allowance buys, assuming you use all of it. Unused allowance raises the real cost per second.
- TalkPix: $5 for 50 credits at 1 credit per second (720p) = $0.100/s, falling to $0.053/s on the $200 pack; 1080p costs twice as much.
- HeyGen: 600 credits a month ÷ 16 credits per minute of Avatar IV photo-avatar video = 37.5 minutes.
- D-ID Studio: 10 minutes a month included.
- Synthesia: 10 included minutes + 1,250 credits at about 100 credits per finished minute ≈ 22.5 minutes.
- Vidnoz: 450 credits a month ÷ 0.5 credits per second = 15 minutes.
- Hedra: 2,000 credits a month; credits per second of video are not published.
- Kling Avatar (API): 0.4 units per second at 720p × $0.14 per unit (list price); 1080p is $0.112/s.
- Left out: tools whose talking-photo price could not be confirmed on an official page that day (CapCut, Dreamina, MyHeritage, Akool's per-second rate).
- Free to cite with a link to this page. The full table is in the CSV download.
FAQ
Talking photo pricing questions
How much does an AI talking photo cost per second?
On a monthly plan you use in full, AI talking-photo video costs about $0.010–$0.030 per finished second (D-ID Studio Lite $0.010, HeyGen Creator $0.013, Synthesia Starter ≈$0.021, Vidnoz Starter (450 credits) $0.030). Paying per use costs more per second — Kling's Avatar API $0.056, TalkPix $0.053–$0.100 at 720p — but nothing renews. If you make less than about 5.4–5.8 minutes of video a month, paying once costs less than a $27–$29 monthly plan.
Is a subscription or pay-per-video cheaper for talking photos?
It depends on volume. A subscription is cheaper per second only if you use its whole allowance every month; unused minutes on most plans expire. At TalkPix's Starter-pack rate ($0.083 per second at 720p), the price of a $29 monthly plan buys about 5.8 minutes of video, with credits that never expire. Below that volume, paying once is cheaper.
Which talking photo tool is cheapest?
Per second, on a fully used plan: D-ID Studio Lite at $5.90 a month ($0.010 per second; commercial use: Personal use only on Lite; commercial from Pro). For a single video, the lowest outlay is a one-off purchase: $1.99 for a first TalkPix Talking Photo (new customers, up to 20 seconds), or the $5 TalkPix pack.
How was the Talking Photo Price Index calculated?
Each competitor's entry paid plan was read off its official pricing page on October 10, 2026, at the monthly-billing list price without promotions. Cost per second is that price divided by the seconds of talking-photo video the plan's monthly allowance buys at full use. TalkPix's figures come from its one-time pack prices at 1 credit per second (720p).